Running Unity Linux on the Mac Book

November 19, 2009

For some reason my Mandriva install decided to just lock up on me one day. It was after I was messing with a USB to VGA device. Not sure what I did, but Mandy didn’t like it. My first impression was maybe it was a hardware issue. So I decided to install Unity on a 80G partition and give it a try. Needless to say it’s been a pretty fun experience. Unity has been quite stable and a pleasure to work with. As Unity Linux is based loosely on Mandriva things pretty much just work the same way. The difference is it seems like it’s a little bit slimmer. I started from the OpenBox environment and installed KDE 4.2. Things pretty much just work, there’s been a few issues here and there that I’ve fixed and of course I packaged and installed Pingus. Right now I’m getting SVN access so I can help out and add a few packages I think are important (at least to me) . Overall though they’re calling this an Alpha and I think it’s much more along the lines of a beta release. For the normal knowledgeable Linux user it is quite functional and if you don’t mind trouble shooting a few things and maybe building a few packages it’s okay for everyday use. For me Unity being at this stage in the game is fun. It’s still young, yet still has it’s own mind. Just enough of a challenge to keep me interested, but not enough to get me too frustrated.

Leave a Reply

